Boudoir 101

Lately I’ve really wanted to step out of my comfort zone and start taking more model/fashion photos.  A couple problems, I didn’t know any models and wasn’t sure what I was doing when it came to human subjects.  I turned to meetups to help find events that would help me do just that.  Luckily I found what I needed, an introductory shoot with models using studio lighting in a controlled environment.  I was a little hesitant to go since it was a boudoir shoot, but I had already decided that I really needed to learn at least some lighting basics if i had any chance at feeling more comfortable at other similar shoots.

I was the first to arrive at the room in the Biltmore downtown and was greeted by our instructor for the day, Kin.  It wasn’t long before the other photographers started filing in.  Luckily enough, all of them were just as green as I.  We all chatted a bit about cameras, tripods, lighting, etc. while we waited for the model to show up.  I then started to settle down and became a little more comfortable.  About 15 minutes in, Amanda showed up and I became slightly intimidated again.

I don’t know if its Hollywood movie dramatics or simple TV portrayals, but I had expected the model to be snooty, mean, and rather cold.  To my surprise, Amanda was the total opposite; she was very friendly, kind, and welcoming.  I even found out she was an aerospace engineer, tomboyish, and very goofy/nerdy!  Who would have guessed?!  Furthermore, she was just as excited to be there to help and teach us throughout the event.  The shoot was filled with teaching and learning, but it also had lots of laughs, jokes, and casual conversation.  I could have only wished for such a great outcome.  I hope to work again with some of these photographers and would love working with Amanda again.  She made my first models shoot a delightful and memorable one.

Photos to follow.  Please note, the following pictures may or may not be NSFW.  All are tasteful though, and don’t worry no nudity!  Feel free to leave any and all comments and critiques!

Instructor: Kin Vong
Model: Amanda Deng
Photographer: Gabriel J. Almario

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

